Curating San Diego through Cuisine

13 Mar

Hey everyone! I am freezing, so that means only one thing : I’M BACK IN THE WINDY CITY. Coming from palm trees, sandy beaches, and bare feet, California is where I left my body heat (LOL). Working to live has never been the idea I had in mind for myself. It is obvious through my curiosity for adventure that I will most certainly work to curate life through food, fashion, and culture. My trip was short in reality, but sparked an itch that I know won’t stop : the travel bug.

IMG_1675

The best way to fully submerge yourself into a culture is food, locals, and more food. I was blessed with a tour guide who lived in San Diego for many years ( Thanks, DAVE! ), and friends to kindly take us around to have a good time. Here are my food highlights:

Landing in San Diego with just about the whole day to spare, we rushed over to what I was told was “the best fish taco joint” in San Diego: Oscars in North Pacific Beach. The hole in the wall place that reminded me of the Violet Hour in Chicago from the outside (mural painted on the outside & no sign), told  me I was far from Chicago. There were two men inside, one taking orders and the other cutting a huge octopus for tacos. I went with the red snapper and butterfly grilled fish tacos….which were to die for. With a melody of three sauces to try from (chipotle,  red, and spicy tarter) I was in heaven.

IMG_1628

IMG_1622

IMG_1621 

Saturday began the excursion to three different parts of San Diego (seen in my next blog post) starting with brunch at the O’Bistro Cafe in Ocean Beach. A raspberry mimosa and a smoked salmon salad did the trick at the outdoor cafe.

IMG_1899

IMG_1912

Smoked Salmon Salad

IMG_1914

Chicken and Pesto Penne

Old Town is the oldest part of San Diego, and a bit on the touristy side mixed with delicious authentic Mexican food. I had one of the best bowls of Caldo de Res I’ve ever had unexpectedly, and a famous San Diego burrito. Caldo de Res is a soup with veggies such as corn and carrots soaked in a beef broth, with chunks of beef  and lime squeezed on top. Through the windows in many of the restaurants, you could see women making fresh tortillas and chickens roasting on spits. 

IMG_2383

IMG_2505

Burrito in Old Town

IMG_2389

 

IMG_2501

Some of the BEST Caldo de Res I’ve ever had

IMG_2399

My trip couldn’t have ended without trying carne asada fries…I know it sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen, but I tried them anyways.

IMG_2796

 I just about slept the whole way home after eating that whole plate! A great trip filled with delicious food. My tour guide was correct, Chicago Mexican food does not even compare to San Diego Mexican food.

IMG_2075

Happy Eating,

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 8.33.52 PM

This post was purely on the food I enjoyed, expect an adventure post soon 🙂 

3 Responses to “Curating San Diego through Cuisine”

  1. Stephanie March 13, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    Um…I might have to make a trip to San Diego soon just for those fries…O_O

  2. shortisthenewblack March 13, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    I need those Carne Asada fries ASAP! They look so delicious!

  3. sabrinasouffle March 14, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    They were pretty delicious 🙂

Leave a comment