Valentines Day at Sunda

17 Feb

Photo on 2-14-13 at 7.42 PM #3Valentines day is the day that everyone loves to hate or hates to love , am I right? In my book, it’s a night to perhaps snuggle up a bit closer to your significant other, and ALSO a time to savor all the goodies on valentine’s day menus across the city. V-day landed on a Thursday this year, so reservations were tough to book– no doubt. I was a lucky girl, my valentine took me to feast at Chicago’s favorite asian restaurant : Sunda owned by the Rockit Ranch Production.

zed

Before heading to our 10pm dinner reservations, we stopped over at Zed 451 for a cocktail. Zed 451 is known for their outdoor patio in the spring and summer, but never having ventured inside during the winter, I was curious to check out the atmosphere. Cozy, warm, and inviting we sat at the bar near the lounge area with a fire place. The bar tender made my clementine mint martini right in front of us, using all the pulp from a clementine and shook to perfection with dry ice. I was pleasantly surprised by the pairing of mint and clementine, and would definitely head back for another.

clemmartini zed1

Sunda seated us in the middle of the bustling and dimly lit restaurant, where it seemed to be busier than ever. Having eaten here before, I immediately knew the miso crusted lamb rack with truffle rice was a must. Our meal started off with a lychee martini and tiger beer for the sir. The best way to eat out I’ve realized is to eat tapas style, where everyone shares plates–that way everyone can share, engage, and taste everything. We ordered Sunda’s Signature Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna and Jalapeño, Malay Style Chilean Seabass, Miso Crusted Lamb Rack with Truffle Rice and shared everything. My favorite pick? Didn’t have one–everything was exquisite, by far the best meal of 2013 ( thus far 😉 ).

sunda

Lychee Martini and Lamb Rack

lamb3

Miso Crusted Lamb Rack with Truffle Rice

bass

Chilean Seabass

       The way to this girl’s heart? Good food!

XOXO,

Sabrina

Leave a comment